Pyr Honored with Four Major Award Nominations

Pyr Gets Two Hugo Nominations plus Two Authors up for John W. Campbell Best New Writer Award!

Amherst, NY—Pyr, the highly acclaimed science fiction and fantasy imprint of Prometheus Books, is proud to announce that its Editorial Director, Lou Anders, and three of its authors have been nominated for highly esteemed awards in science fiction:

* Lou Anders for Best Professional Editor, Long Form Hugo Award
* Ian McDonald’s Brasyl for Best Novel Hugo Award
* Joe Abercrombie (The Blade Itself) for John W. Campbell Best New Writer Award
* David Louis Edelman (Infoquake) for John W. Campbell Best New Writer Award

The Hugo Award is the leading award for excellence in the field of science fiction and fantasy. For the second year in a row, Pyr Editorial Director Lou Anders has been nominated for the Hugo for Best Professional Editor, Long Form in recognition of his ability to produce a high-quality and intelligent line of science fiction and fantasy titles. Anders says, "I am personally very honored to be nominated for a second year in a row… but when one honors an editor, what they are really doing is sending along an endorsement of that editor's tastes, so I am over the moon to see a book from Pyr in the 'Best Novel' category and two Pyr authors on the Campbell list."

USA Today called Ian McDonald’s Brasyl—up for the Hugo for Best Novel—"the most rewarding science fiction in recent memory." McDonald, hailed by Asimov’s Science Fiction as "one of the most interesting and accomplished science fiction writers of this latter-day era, indeed maybe the most interesting and accomplished," comments on this nomination: "As they say, the honor is simply being nominated. I'm thrilled to have been nominated for Brasyl (even if, as umpteen Brazilians have told, my spelling is terrible!) —but what's especially exciting is that it's a double whammy: for me, and for Lou Anders as editor (and a real old school hands-on editor) as creative director of Pyr. This, I hope, is the first of many for the ballsiest imprint in SF."

The John W. Campbell Best New Writer Award is given to the best new writer whose first work of science fiction or fantasy appearing in a professional publication was published in the previous two years. Nominee Joe Abercrombie’s best-selling fantasy debut The Blade Itself: The First Law: Book One has earned him much praise and the designation by Locus as "a rough-and-tumble, bold new voice in the heroic fantasy ranks." With the same dark wit that colors his novels, Abercrombie says, "I’m delighted to have been nominated, especially at a time when there are so many great new authors coming out. My Uruk Hai hit squad are already on their way to Wisconsin to 'dramatically reduce' the chance of a Scott Lynch victory. They may well stop by David Anthony Durham’s house on the way back …"

David Louis Edelman is also up for the John W. Campbell Award for his debut novel Infoquake. "I'm beyond thrilled to be nominated for the Campbell Award. It's an honor to even be mentioned in the same sentence as the other esteemed nominees. I feel especially honored considering I only had one eligible published work during the 2006-2007 time period." SFF World called Infoquake "A stunning debut novel by a lucid, precise, and talented new voice…This may be THE science fiction book of the year."

Prometheus Books and Pyr congratulate Lou Anders, Ian McDonald, Joe Abercrombie and David Louis Edelman for their outstanding work. We are proud to be associated with such talent and quality.

Speak Your Mind