Review: "Pandemic" by Scott Sigler

pandemic-cover

Podcast novelist (and self-proclaimed future dark overlord) Scott Sigler burst onto the horror scene a couple of years ago Infected. If you've read (or listened to) Sigler's original novel, I need only say two words to make you shudder involuntarily -- chicken scissors.   [Read more...]

Review: "The Republic of Thieves" by Scott Lynch

Buy at Amazon

After years of anticipation and speculation, Lynch returns to the universe of his Gentlemen Bastards with the long-awaited third installment, The Republic of Thieves.   [Read more...]

Review: "Parasite" by Mira Grant

Parasite by Mira Grant

Mira Grant's first novel Feed was one of the best novels of its year, garnering critical praise, a legion of fans and making the short list for the Hugo Award.

It deserved every bit of that attention thanks in large part thanks to a new take on the zombie thriller and a couple of interesting twists along the way that made me eager for the next installment in the trilogy. Unfortunately, the final two segments of the Newsflesh trilogy never quite lived up to the high bar set by the first book.   [Read more...]

Review: "Helen and Troy's Epic Road Quest" by A. Lee Martinez

helentroyroadquest

Helen and Troy are just your ordinary, average young Americans who work together at minimum wage jobs in a fast food restaurant.

Well, except for the small detail that Helen is a minotaur and the two have been given an epic quest by a hamburger god.   [Read more...]

Review: "Doctor Sleep" by Stephen King

Buy at Amazon

When I heard that Stephen King was writing a sequel to what I consider one of his best novels The Shining, I was both eager and hesitant to pick it up. Part of me was eager to see where King would take the characters from the world of the Overlook Hotel in the sequel and hesitant because of the track record of other authors with "long awaited" sequels.   [Read more...]

New "Halo" Novel Release Date Announced

Halo fans will want to put down their game controls and head out to their local bookstores early next year.   [Read more...]

Remembering Ray Bradbury

One of the genre's greats and a staunch defender of public libraries, Ray Bradbury, has passed away.  He was 91. Bradbury was a prolific writer, publishing 27 novels and short story collections during his career.  His classic Fahrenheit 451 is required reading for most high school students.    In addition, Bradbury gave us The Martian Chronicles, Something Wicked […]

Review: "Redshirts" by John Scalzi

redshirts

If you’ve ever watched an episode of classic Star Trek, you’re probably familiar with the old adage, “Don’t wear a red shirt.” Odds are you won’t survive until the first commercial break.

John Scalzi’s latest novel Redshirts delves into that old adage as well as several other tropes from not only classic Trek but many of our favorite genre series.   [Read more...]

Tor to Drop DRM From E-Books

Tor/Forge, one of the largest sci-fi and fantasy publishers, will drop DRM from its e-books by July of 2012, the company announced in a press release today.

The move could be a signal to other publishers to drop the use of DRM on its e-books as well.   [Read more...]

Win An Autographed Copy of "Dead of Night"

Buy at Amazon.com

St. Martin's Griffith is giving away 10 signed hardcover copies of the novel. You can enter to win the book HERE.   [Read more...]

All Hallow's Read

Gaiman has started the All Hallow's Read to encourage sharing of "scary books" during the upcoming Halloween season. Gaiman says that you can give the book the week of Halloween or on the actual Halloween night itself.   [Read more...]

NASA Teaming Up With Tor/Forge

We've all heard stories about how many of NASA's scientists and astronauts were inspired by the worlds of science-fiction. Now, the space agency is teaming up with Tor books to create a new line of science-fiction novels that will highlight concepts relevant to current and future NASA missions and operations.   [Read more...]

2011 Hugo Award Winners Announced

This weekend, the winners of the Hugo awards were announced. Connie Willis picked up another Hugo for best novel and Doctor Who won for its two-part series five finale.   [Read more...]

NPR Releases Top 100 Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book List

A couple of weeks ago, we told you about NPR's summer project to assemble a list of the top 100 sci-fi and fantasy books.

After nominations, voting and compiling, the results are in. The full list is available on NPR.   [Read more...]

NPR Looking for Top Sci-Fi and Fantasy Novels

Got a favorite genre novel?  NPR wants to hear about it. The news broadcaster is looking to compile a list of nominees that can be whittled down into the best examples of the genres. Here's the guidelines for nominating: 1. Limit yourself to five titles per post. Don't hesitate to nominate a book that someone […]

"A Dance With Dragons" Release Date Announced

Fans of George R.R. Martin's "A Song of Fire and Ice" mark your calendars. The fifth installment in the epic fantasy series has a release date. "A Dance With Dragons," the fifth volume in the series will hit stores on July 12, 2011. Entertainment Weekly broke the news on their site and says the latest […]